top of page

Gustavo Gimeno

Music Director

director musical gustavo_gimeno-16-phot

Born in Valencia, Gustavo Gimeno began his international conducting career in 2012. Whilst still a solo percussionist with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra (a position he has since relinquished) Gimeno worked regularly as an assistant to Mariss Jansons. He has worked closely with Bernard Haitink and was strongly mentored for many years by the late Claudio Abbado.

Gustavo Gimeno websitewww.gustavogimeno.com

Concert director Schmid

Artist profile Gustavo Gimeno www.kdschmid.de

From the 2015/16 season Gustavo Gimeno is the  Music Director of the Luxembourg Philharmonic.

 

At the beginning of this musical partnership his programming is focused on the first symphonies of Beethoven, Mahler, Bruckner, Schumann and Shostakovich, as well as more recent works by Rihm, Berg and Berio. Alongside these symphonic works Gustavo Gimeno enjoyed collaborations with Isabelle Faust, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Leonidas Kavakos, Anja Harteros, and the Wiener Singverein, for a performance of Verdi’s Requiem for Easter 2016.

Gustavo Gimeno will also continue his collaboration with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, both at home in Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw Hall, and on tour to Asia. He returns to conduct the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi. 

He made his debuts on the podiums of the Orchestre National de France, Orchestre National du Toulouse Capitol de Toulouse, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden and the Philharmonia Zurich. The 2015/16 season also sees Gustavo Gimeno make his debut in USA with Cleveland Orchestra and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and his Japan debut with the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra. In March 2015 Gimeno made his opera conducting debut with a new production of Bellini’s Norma at the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia, directed by Davide Livermore.

Over the years in the Philharmonie and on tour, he has performed a long list of works, as well as produced an extensive list of recordings Pentatone and harmonia mundi labels. Gustavo Gimeno also serves as Music Director of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and performs as a guest conductor around the globe.

bottom of page

top of page

Gustavo Gimeno

Chefdirigent

directeur musical gustavo_gimeno-16-phot

Geboren in Valencia, begann Gustavo Gimeno seine internationale Dirigentenkarriere 2012 als Assistent von Mariss Jansons; damals war er noch Solo-Schlagzeuger beim Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. Maßgebliche Erfahrungen sammelte er zudem als Assistent von Bernard Haitink und Claudio Abbado, der ihn als Mentor intensiv förderte.

Website Gustavo Gimenowww.gustavogimeno.com

Konzertdirektion Schmid

Künstlerprofil Gustavo Gimeno www.kdschmid.de

Gustavo Gimeno ist seit der Saison 2015/16 Chefdirigent des Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg.

 

Zum Auftakt dieser musikalischen Partnerschaft richtet er einen besonderen Fokus auf die ersten Symphonien von Beethoven, Mahler, Bruckner, Schumann und Schostakowitsch sowie auf neuere Werke von Rihm, Berg und Berio. Zusätzlich freut er sich gemeinsam mit dem Orchester auf Begegnungen mit Isabelle Faust, Frank Peter Zimmermann, Leonidas Kavakos, Anja Harteros und dem Wiener Singverein, mit dem zu Ostern 2016 Verdis Requiem zur Aufführung kommt.

Darüber hinaus setzt Gustavo Gimeno seine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra fort, das er in Amsterdam und auf Asien-Tournee leiten wird. Weitere Wiedereinladungen führen ihn zu den Münchner Philharmonikern, dem Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra oder dem Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi. Erstmals steht er 2015/16 am Pult des Orchestre National de France, Orchestre National de Capitol du Toulouse, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, der Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden oder der Philharmonia Zürich. Konzerte mit dem Cleveland Orchestra und dem Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra markieren 2015 Gustavo Gimenos ersten Auftritt in den USA, sein Japan-Debüt gibt er mit dem Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra. Im März 2015 gab er mit einer Neuproduktion von Bellinis Norma am Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia unter der Regie von Davide Livermore seinen Opern-Einstand.

Im Laufe der Jahre in der Philharmonie und auf Tourneen hat er eine lange Liste von Werken aufgeführt, sowie eine umfangreiche Liste an Aufnahmen bei den Labels Pentatone und harmonia mundi erzeugt. Gustavo Gimeno ist weiterhin ebenfalls Music Director des Toronto Symphony Orchestra und ist als Gastdirigent rund um den Globus unterwegs. 

bottom of page