• Lodges, Begleitreise Wien (Photo: Thierry Faber) Lodges, Accompanying trip Wien (Photo: Thierry Faber)

Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg

Gustavo Gimeno Music Director

The orchestra of the Grand Duchy, the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg (OPL), represents a very dynamic part of the culture of its country. Since its high-profile debut in 1933 under the aegis of Radio Luxembourg (RTL), the orchestra has been present all over Europe. Publicly administered since 1996, the OPL has, since 2005, been resident at the Philharmonie Luxembourg, one of the most prestigious concert halls in Europe. In January 2012 the two institutions merged both artistically and administratively.

 

The acoustics of its residence, praised by great orchestras, conductors and soloists from all over the world, its long-standing relationships with other prestigious halls and festivals as well as its close collaboration with first-rate musical personalities have contributed to making the OPL an orchestra renowned for the elegance of its sonority. Its standing has been confirmed by an impressive list of prizes awarded for some twenty CDs, all released in the last few years: Grand Prix Charles Cros, Victoires de la musique classique, Orphée d’Or de l’Académie du Disque Lyrique, Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik, Télérama ffff, Pizzicato Excellentia, IRR Outstanding, BBC Music Choice, as well as several Diapasons d’Or, Choc du Monde de la Musique, Pizzicato Supersonic, Classica R10 and many others.

 

In the 2015/16 season, Gustavo Gimeno becomes the eighth Music Director of the OPL (after Henri Pensis, Carl Melles, Louis de Froment, Leopold Hager, David Shallon, Bramwell Tovey und Emmanuel Krivine). Alongside the classical and romantic repertoire, the orchestra’s programme reserves an important place for music of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries: works by Olivier Messiaen, Wolfgang Rihm, Helmut Lachenmann, Luciano Berio, Ivo Malec, Hugues Dufourt, Toshio Hosokawa, Klaus Huber, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Georges Lentz, Philip Glass, Michael Jarrell, Arthur Honegger and many others are regularly performed. The orchestra has also recorded the complete orchestral works of Iannis Xenakis.

 

The orchestra demonstrates its diversity with concert formats such as «Aventure+»; regular opera productions staged at the Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg; film concerts like «Live Cinema» in collaboration with the Cinémathèque de la Ville de Luxembourg; «Pops at the Phil» evenings with such stars as Patti Austin, Kurt Elling, Ute Lemper, Gregory Porter, Dionne Warwick, Maurane and Angélique Kidjo, and open-air concerts with jazz and rock groups as part of the Fête de la Musique.

 

The 2015/16 season will include musical partnerships with soloists such as Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Kit Amstrong, Alena Baeva, Cameron Carpenter, Stefan Dohr, Isabelle Faust, Gilberto Gil, Anja Harteros, Leonidas Kavakos, Johannes Moser, Ann Petersen, Mikhail Pletnev, Menahem Pressler, Vadim Repin, Edicson Ruiz, Frank Peter Zimmermann and Jean-François Zygel,  and conductors such as Pierre Cao, Carl Davis, Leopold Hager, Timothy Henty, Eliahu Inbal, Richard Kaufman, Emmanuel Krivine, Andris Nelsons, Emilio Pomàrico, Adrian Prabava, Jamie Phillips, Roberto Rizzi Brignoli, Case Scaglione, Clemens Schuldt, Lahav Shani, Alexander Shelley,Stefan Soltesz, Maxime Tortelier, Juraj Valčuha, Christian Vásquez and Gast Waltzing.

 

Alongside its extensive repertoire and wide-ranging audiences, as well as the esteem of high calibre musicians, one further point links the OPL and the Philharmonie Luxembourg: the importance they both attach to innovative education and outreach activities for children, teenagers and adults. Since 2003, the orchestra has created concerts and workshops for schools, children and families as well as DVD productions. It also performs in schools and hospitals, and, in addition, prepares school classes for subscription concerts with music appreciation workshops. Furthermore, it invites audiences to discover orchestral music with the help of remarkable presenters such as Jean-François Zygel in its «Dating:» cycle.

 

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the OPL share a common spirit of openness towards Europe and the world. The 98 musicians hailing from some 20 different nations (two thirds from Luxembourg and its neighbour countries France, Germany and Belgium) are active throughout the Greater Region with numerous concerts and activities. Tours take the orchestra to many music venues in Europe as well as in Asia and the USA. In 2015/16, the orchestra performs in France, Germany and the Netherlands. OPL concerts are regularly broadcast by Luxembourg radio 100,7 and internationally by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU).

 

The OPL is subsidised by the Ministry of Culture of the Grand Duchy and receives further support from the City of Luxembourg. Its partners are BGL BNP Paribas as well as Banque de Luxembourg, CACEIS, Mercedes Benz and POST Luxembourg. Since December 2012 a cello made by Matteo Goffriller (1659–1742) called «Le Luxembourgeois» has been put at the OPL’s disposal by BGL BNP Paribas.

• Lodges, Begleitreise Wien (Photo: Thierry Faber) Lodges, Begleitreise Wien (Photo: Thierry Faber)

Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg

Gustavo Gimeno Chefdirigent

Das Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg (OPL) verkörpert als Orchester des Großherzogtums einen sehr lebendigen Teil der kulturellen Tradition seines Landes. Schon seit seinen glanzvollen Anfängen 1933 bei Radio Luxemburg (RTL) ist das 1996 in staatliche Trägerschaft übernommene Orchester europaweit präsent. Seit der Eröffnung der Philharmonie Luxembourg 2005, mit der es seit Beginn 2012 eine gemeinsame Einheit bildet, ist das OPL in einem der herausragenden Konzerthäuser Europas beheimatet.

 

Die von den größten Orchestern, Dirigenten und Solisten der Welt geschätzte Akustik seiner Residenz, die lange Verbundenheit mit zahlreichen renommierten Häusern und Festivals sowie die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit herausragenden Musikerpersönlichkeiten haben zum Ruf einer besonders eleganten Klangkultur des OPL beigetragen. Das bezeugt nicht zuletzt die beeindruckende Liste der Auszeichnungen für die über 20 im Lauf der letzten Jahre erschienenen CDs (Grand Prix Charles Cros, Victoires de la musique classique, Orphée d’Or de l’Académie du Disque Lyrique, Preis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik, Télérama ffff, Pizzicato Excellentia, IRR Outstanding, BBC Music Choice sowie mehrfach Diapason d’Or, Choc du Monde de la Musique, Pizzicato Supersonic, Classica R10 u.v.a.).

 

Die Saison 2015/16 ist geprägt durch den Beginn der Zusammenarbeit mit Gustavo Gimeno als achtem Chefdirigenten des Orchesters (nach Henri Pensis, Carl Melles, Louis de Froment, Leopold Hager, David Shallon, Bramwell Tovey und Emmanuel Krivine). Über das große romantische und klassische Repertoire hinaus setzt sich das OPL intensiv auch mit Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts auseinander, beispielsweise mit Werken von Iannis Xenakis (Gesamteinspielung der Orchesterwerke), Olivier Messiaen, Wolfgang Rihm, Helmut Lachenmann, Luciano Berio, Ivo Malec, Hugues Dufourt, Toshio Hosokawa, Klaus Huber, Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Georges Lentz, Philip Glass, Michael Jarrell, Arthur Honegger u.v.a.

 

Auch Konzertformate wie «Aventure+», regelmäßige Opernproduktionen am Grand Théâtre de Luxembourg, Filmkonzerte wie «Live Cinema» mit der Cinémathèque de la Ville de Luxembourg, «Pops at the Phil» mit Stars wie Patti Austin, Kurt Elling, Ute Lemper, Gregory Porter, Dionne Warwick, Maurane oder Angélique Kidjo, Open-Air-Auftritte mit Jazzgruppen und Rockbands bei der Fête de la Musique u.v.a. zeigen die Vielseitigkeit des OPL.

 

Zu den musikalischen Partnern in der Saison 2015/16 zählen u.a. die Solisten Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Kit Amstrong, Alena Baeva, Cameron Carpenter, Stefan Dohr, Isabelle Faust, Gilberto Gil, Anja Harteros, Leonidas Kavakos, Johannes Moser, Ann Petersen, Mikhail Pletnev, Menahem Pressler, Vadim Repin, Edicson Ruiz, Frank Peter Zimmermann und Jean-François Zygel sowie die Dirigenten Pierre Cao, Carl Davis, Leopold Hager, Timothy Henty, Eliahu Inbal, Richard Kaufman, Emmanuel Krivine, Andris Nelsons, Emilio Pomàrico, Adrian Prabava, Jamie Phillips, Roberto Rizzi Brignoli, Case Scaglione, Clemens Schuldt, Lahav Shani, Alexander Shelley,Stefan Soltesz, Maxime Tortelier, Juraj Valčuha, Christian Vásquez und Gast Waltzing.

 

Neben dem breit gefächerten Repertoire und Publikum sowie der Wertschätzung durch hochkarätige Gastinterpreten gibt es eine weitere Gemeinsamkeit des OPL und der Philharmonie Luxembourg: Innovative Musikvermittlung für Kinder und Jugendliche sowie im Bereich der Erwachsenenbildung nimmt einen hohen Stellenwert ein. Seit 2003 engagiert sich das Orchester in Schul-, Kinder- und Familienkonzerten, Workshops, DVD-Produktionen sowie Konzerten in Schulen und Krankenhäusern, bereitet gemeinsam mit Schulklassen Abonnementkonzerte vor und lädt im Zyklus «Dating:» mit bemerkenswerten Musikvermittlern wie Jean-François Zygel zur Entdeckung der Orchestermusik.

 

Mit seiner Heimat, dem Großherzogtum Luxemburg, teilt das OPL eine sehr europäische und weltoffene Haltung. Das Orchester mit seinen 98 Musikern aus rund 20 Nationen (zwei Drittel stammen aus Luxemburg und seinen Nachbarländern Frankreich, Deutschland und Belgien) ist mit zahlreichen Konzerten und Aktivitäten in der gesamten Großregion präsent. Tourneen führen das OPL darüber hinaus in zahlreiche Musikzentren Europas sowie nach Asien und in die USA; 2015/16 stehen insbesondere Tourneen durch Frankreich, Deutschland und Niederlande auf dem Programm. Die Konzerte des OPL werden regelmäßig vom luxemburgischen Radio 100,7 übertragen und über das Netzwerk der Europäischen Rundfunkunion (EBU) international ausgestrahlt.

 

Das OPL wird subventioniert vom Kulturministerium des Großherzogtums und erhält weitere Unterstützung von der Stadt Luxemburg. Partner des OPL sind BGL BNP Paribas, Banque de Luxembourg, CACEIS, Mercedes Benz sowie POST Luxembourg. Seit Dezember 2012 stellt BGL BNP Paribas dem OPL dankenswerterweise das Violoncello «Le Luxembourgeois» von Matteo Goffriller (1659–1742) zur Verfügung.